About Us

Our History

The West Suburban Community Pantry traces its roots to a small pantry dating back to the 1970s. In 1992, the Pantry was incorporated and obtained its 501(c)(3) status in response to the growing need to feed the hungry in DuPage County.

The Pantry operates year-round with a goal that each eligible family in DuPage County receives nutritionally balanced food, including meats, dairy, and fresh produce monthly. We are also registered as an emergency food pantry for Illinois.

A Brief Overview

With the help of volunteers and sponsors, our vision is to eradicate hunger within the families and individuals in the DuPage County area. We are dedicated to providing food for the hungry, educating the donor community about existing needs, and supporting advocacy efforts for the hungry. We also work hard to encourage volunteerism and the sharing of resources.

The Facts for Fiscal Year 2018:

  • Distributed 1.6 million pounds of food.
  • Served 47,198 individuals, including 18,638 children and 6,366 seniors.
  • 3,933 persons received perishable and non-perishable food bi-monthly.
  • 534 families were served through our new Mobile Pantry program.
  • 27 Seniors received Home Delivery each month.
  • 607 backpacks filled with school supplies were distributed to children in our communities.
  • WSCP partnered with 14 schools to provide healthy snacks to students.
  • School breakfast was provided to nearly 1,300 students.

Administrative Staff

Laura Coyle
Executive Director
630.948.8131 |  ltcoyle@wscpantry.org

Kristin Jachymiak
Director of Operations
630.948.8136 |  kjachymiak@wscpantry.org

Lisa Spaeth
Development Manager
630.948.8132  |  lspaeth@wscpantry.org

Kevin Gruzewski
Pantry Manager
630.512.9921 | kgruzewski@wscpantry.org

Christopher Payne
Pantry Assistant
630.512.9921  | cpayne@wscpantry.org

Yazmine Reyes
Administrative Assistant
630.948.8134 | yreyes@wscpantry.org

Sarah Sliffe
Client Resource Coordinator
630.512.9921 | ssliffe@wscpantry.org

Cheryl Toohey
Volunteer Coordinator
630.512.9921 | ctoohey@wscpantry.org

Board of Directors

Chair
Jeff Seitz
Accenture

Members

Jina Boerman
Boerman Moving and Storage

Michael Ciciura
Lisle Savings Bank

Gina Cunningham-Picek
Mayor of Woodridge

Kevin Delano
Rasmussen College

Dr. Robert Girgis
Robert F. Girgis, D.D.S., Ltd

Barbara Gulick
Western-Cullen-Hayes, Inc.

Kelly Jeschke
Jones Long LaSalle

Alex Leming
Gartner, Inc.

Michael Olson
CIBC

Kay Page
Comcast

Judy Pokorny
Retired

Ripujit Singh
Deloitte

Gayle Szpytek
White Oak Library District

Advisory Council

Nick Economos
Fiduciary Financial Partners

Paula Gleason
Bensidoun USA, Inc.

Jo Jackson
Integrated Project Management Company, Inc.

Mary Jo Mullen
Lisle Township Supervisor

Dianne O’Donnell
Retired

David Olsen
Alzheimer’s Association

Barbara A Schmith
Co-Founder, WSCP

Steve Szyptek
BofI Federal Bank

Robert Wheeler
Attorney

Mark Wright
Diverse Facility Solutions